TinyML Security Applications

At @vjreddi’s suggestion, I’m starting a thread here about cybersecurity and ML.

By way of introduction, I’m a cybersecurity consultant with a background in physical security. One of my interests is deploying ML to the field to help address security issues.

Right now, some endpoint protection (anti-malware/anti-virus) products are using ML models executing on the endpoint to identify malware with great success. However, the vast majority of security products still backhaul data to the cloud for processing. Anyone who has taken the TinyML course will understand that this approach is expensive (power, network traffic, etc.) There are also significant security and privacy implications, especially when network traffic is concerned.

I’m new to ML in general, and I’m very interested in understanding how ML can be applied to network traffic, etc.

In the physical security world, I think there are tremendous applications for TinyML. For example, consider alarm systems. Sensors used in the majority of deployments are low cost and attempt to turn the real world into a boolean. Door sensors complete or break a circuit. IR motion sensors use relatively simple rules to determine the state of a dry contact or send a boolean motion detection report by RF. Some installers are forced to connect a pair of $20 IR motion detectors in parallel to help reduce false alarms. (It’s a bit crazy that in 2021 you still can’t program many alarm systems to require two sensors to trip before sending an alarm. Some have related capability but suffer from usability issues.) The combination of human error and overly simplistic detection results in the vast majority of alarm activations being false alarms. As a result, the police respond at a low priority and leave the owner a bill for the false alarm service.

These are only a few examples – I can’t help but see many opportunities for ML in the security space.

1 Like

Hello @SecurityGuy,